Parents, students, faculty, staff, and alums gathered in the courtyard for Indian Mountain School’s 89th graduation ceremony on Friday, June 8, 2012. The beautiful sunny weather set the scene as 39 upbeat ninth graders and 24 departing eighth-graders bid farewell to their friends and teachers before heading off for the summer and on to secondary school. 

Piper K. Lee Collins led the procession of honorees, while the eighth grade marshals, Will Bliss and Mia Vantine, directed graduates to their seats. Mr. Devey welcomed everyone with opening remarks, and the exciting day began. The Reverend Diane Monti-Catania from the Salisbury Congregational Church gave the invocation followed by the traditional singing of America the Beautiful, led by Ms. Joanna Seaton, accompanied by Donald Sosin. Next, Mr. Ram Miles directed a group of IMS singers and musicians in a performance of Home by Edward Sharpe. The Mountain Voices later performed The Call/No Need to Say Goodbye by Regina Spektor.

After welcoming remarks, Mr. Devey announced the top scholars and awarded the major school prizes:

7th grade top scholar: Lorrisa Luo
8th grade top scholar: Joe Kim
9th grade top scholar: Helena Seo
Triangle Prize: Ken Park
The Riggs Prize: Jesse Calder
The Doolittle Prize: Griffin Hochstetter
The Schutte Prize: Jonathan Cook
McMillen Prize: Lilly Schopp
Dunham Prize: Michael Carter

Rouse Prize: Mary Ma
Head of School Awards: Caitlin Wood, Kade McCoy, Talia Bush, Michael Namon, Joe Kim
John S. W. Spofford Award: Dan Bliss P’11’13
Mountain Cards: Bette Rosse P’13’17 and Christina Lang P’12
Dunham Chair: Jay Barillaro P’20’22

Mr. Devey also honored departing trustees George A. Benington ’81 and Helen Watson Blodgett P’08’11 and introduced our commencement speaker Mike Brown, who is retiring after 38 years of service to IMS. Mr. Brown addressed the graduates with a message that spotlighted his commitment to the natural beauty of our campus and time spent on Indian Mountain. He urged graduates to respect the environment and take action to protect our earth.

The ninth grade giving committee presented the ninth grade gift of $500 to the IMS Annual Fund, and then Mr. Devey and Mr. Fowler presented the graduates with their diplomas, and departing eighth graders received certificates.

After the ceremony, graduates and their families enjoyed a delicious lunch in the dining hall before saying their goodbyes for the summer. We expect everyone to stay in touch with our Alumni Office and return to the IMS campuses often! The Class of 2012 Alumni Reps are Michael Namon, Jonathan Cook, Talia Bush, Lilly Schopp, Min Chan Kim, and Mary Ma. Photos of the day can be viewed and purchased online from Tory Estern Jadow Photography.
Congratulations to all of our ninth grade graduates and departing eighth graders:


Zane Christian Acord
Talia Noelle Medoro Bush
Junghyun Byun
Jesse Alexander Calder
Michael Bowman Carter
Lolo Cheung
Yoon Jin Choe
Andrew John Colangelo
Aidan Patrick Coll
Jonathan Max Cook
Antonio del Valle
Elizabeth Quantasia Floyd
Margaret Power Frankenbach
Gregory Hayden Graham
Timothy Edward Haan
Griffin Ian Hochstetter
Jung Seok Kim
Min Chan Kim
Robert James Lang-Assael
June Leigh
Ming Yuan Li
Meng Qian Ma
Kade Carlton McCoy
Iona Emily Moir
Charles Sherman Morgenstein
Chase Ian Morrissey
Michael Dov Namon
Delores Oluchi Nwokeafor-Laz
Connolly Kathleen O’Brien
Chance Anthony O’Niel
Ju Hyung Park
Antonio Said Fregoso
Elouise Amantha Schmidt
Lillian Muir Schopp
Haeryung Seo
Harrison Tyler Shea
Aidan Alois Teetor
Caitlin Grant Wood
Jia Hui Yu


Juan Carlos Balcazar Dot

Alexandra Barnes-Schwartz
Cormac James Patrick Bell
Ana Cervantes Buch
Sami Loren Depass
Duncan Thomas Elliott
Jorge Esteve Aguilar
Jeanne-Claire Olivier Fink
Julia Grace Freund
Ines Garcia Gomez (in absentia)
Tufic Hakim Davila
Isaac Elliott Ignatius
Alexandra Thenebe Welden Ivanoff
Hyun Jo Kim
Deirdra Henry McKelvy
Joaquin Nicolau Mancera
Emmitt West Mooney
Elsie Mead Pryor
Angelika Coghlan Reinhardt
Heidi Sylvia Reiss
Yann Serrano Clemente
Victor Sesin Capur
Sarah Robin Smith
Julien Gabriel Sy