It was a picture-perfect day for the 2019 Indian Mountain School Commencement Ceremonies on Friday, June 7. Parents, students, faculty, and alumni gathered under the tent on Stockton Field to recognize our 43 ninth graders and 11 departing eighth graders.

Following the commencement exercises, students bid farewell to their friends and teachers before heading off for the summer and on to their next schools.

Following tradition, piper, Mr. K. Lee Collins led the procession of honorees into the tent while eighth grade marshals, Yujin Kim and Jackson Raymond, directed graduates to their seats.

The Reverend Andrew A. Kryzak ’98, curate at Christ Church Greenwich, gave the invocation followed by the traditional singing of America the Beautiful, led by Ms. Joanna Seaton and accompanied by Donald Sosin.

Head of School Jody Reilly Soja welcomed everyone with opening remarks. Ms. Soja highlighted three elements of music that resonate strongly with this graduating class: tone, harmony and dynamics. She explained, “As a class, you have taught us so much about the power of reflection, personal growth, gratitude, and acceptance. It’s been a gift to watch you support each other. Your ability to set a positive tone, achieve greater harmony within a diverse community, and shift the dynamics is an exemplar for us all.”

Mr. Ram Miles then directed a group of IMS singers and musicians in a performance of Even If It Breaks Your Heart by Eli Young Band. Accompanied by Ms. Seaton and Mr. Sosin, the Mountain Voices later performed See You Again/Remember Me, by C. Puth, Anderson-Lopez.


Mountain Card: Mary McAfee
Courage to Climb Award: Cheryl Sleboda
Spofford Award: Anna Traggio
2006 Distinguished Teaching Chair: David Gargill
Head of School Awards: Burke Bogardus; Claire Kim; Kayla Cui;
McMillen Prize: Julia Zhang
Schutte Prize: Fred Coulibaly
The 2006 Prize: Anne Huffines
Rouse Prize: Laila Kennedy
Doolittle Prize: Will Taaffe
Austen Fox Riggs Prize: Sejin Kim
Triangle Prize: Zobran Elias

Ms. Soja also acknowledged our 11-Year Veterans who have been at IMS since pre-kindergarten (Jamie Winston and Aida Blue) and our four-year boarding students (Michelle Chiang and Claire Kim) who have been boarding students since sixth grade.

Ninth graders Anne Huffines, Will Taaffe, and Ryan Tse read their rousing “This We Believe” speech before Ms. Soja and IMS Board President Chriffo Sanger presented the graduates with diplomas and departing eighth graders with certificates.

After the ceremony, graduates and their families enjoyed lunch in the dining hall before saying their goodbyes for the summer.

Photos are available on Flickr and will be available to view and purchase online from Highpoint Pictures soon. An email will be sent to parents when they are ready.

Congratulations to our graduates!