Parents, students, faculty, staff, and alums gathered under the tent on Stockton Field for Indian Mountain School’s 90th graduation ceremony on Friday, June 7, 2013. The rainy weather did not detract from the 39 upbeat ninth graders and 17 departing eighth-graders bidding farewell to their friends and teachers before heading off for the summer and on to secondary school. 

Piper K. Lee Collins led the procession of honorees, while the eighth grade marshals, Elle Despres and Jerry Park, directed graduates to their seats. Mr. Devey welcomed everyone with opening remarks, and the exciting day began. The Reverend Diane Monti-Catania from the Salisbury Congregational Church gave the invocation followed by the traditional singing of America the Beautiful, led by Ms. Joanna Seaton, accompanied by Donald Sosin. Next, Mr. Ram Miles directed a group of IMS singers and musicians in a performance of Home by Phillip Phillips. The Mountain Voices later performed I Was Here by Diane Warren.

After welcoming remarks, Mr. Devey announced the top scholars and awarded the major school prizes:

7th grade top scholar: Katharine Namon
8th grade top scholar: Maggie Zhu
9th grade top scholar: Bryant Jung
Triangle Prize: Will Bliss
The Riggs Prize: Mia Vantine
The Doolittle Prize: Maggie Markgraf
The Schutte Prize: Sean Dowd
McMillen Prize: Khari Smart
Dunham Prize: Bryant Jung

Rouse Prize: Andie McGraw
Head of School Awards: Sophie Wilder, Zach Chandler, Andrew Vagliano, Abby Quinn, John Sutor
John S. W. Spofford Award: Jill Vantine
Mountain Cards: Donna Rubin
Dunham Chair: Sheryl Knapp

The ninth grade giving committee presented the ninth grade gift to the IMS Annual Fund, and then Mr. Devey and Mrs. Jessica Fowler presented the graduates with their diplomas, and departing eighth graders received certificates.

After the ceremony, graduates and their families enjoyed a delicious lunch in the dining hall before saying their goodbyes for the summer. We expect everyone to stay in touch with our Alumni Office and return to the IMS campuses often! The Class of 2013 Alumni Reps are Will Bliss, Chong Li, and Sophie Wilder. Photos of the day can be viewed and purchased online from Tory Estern Jadow Photography.
Congratulations to all of our ninth grade graduates and departing eighth graders:


Paola Albitos
Howard William Bliss
Zachary Thomas Chandler
Rawson Talbot Clough
Elizabeth Beal Devlin
Sean Patrick Dowd
Santiago Gonzalez
Shangguo Guan
George Thomas Herold
Bryant Weon Tae Jung
Hyun Joo Kim
Katherine Fowler Krissel
Angfei Li
Chong Li
Jin Hoon Lim
Adam Benfield Lucas
Yu Dan Luo
Matthew Bo Madsen
Maggie Mae Markgraf
Sarah Ellen Marr
Khaleel Jaylen Maturine
Anne Drew McGraw
William Alexander Perekslis
Jacob Steven Renkert
Jan Willem Rosse
Inigo Salcido Figueroa
Young Bin Seo
Christophe Bashiri Silvera
Khari Enam Smart
Eun Kyung Son
John Nancarrow Sutor
William Alphonse Tortorella
Karin Maria Vantine
Sophia Lee Wilder
Benjamin Modesto Wilson
Elliot Huston Wilson
Kailin Wright
Rachel Olga Yerks
Jiayang Yin


Emiliano Balcazar Dot
Morgan Adelia Baravalle
Santiago Boud’hors
William Clapp Bullock IV
Sebastian Gallo De La Rocha
Mikel García Urtiaga Mier
Skye Mali Guindon
Juan Pablo Haro de la Garza
Julie Wynn Horowitz
José Luis llaneza Carlin
Shelby Nicole Luminati
Yixiao Luo
Sofia Mulas
Ji Young Park
Luis Andres Polit Arroyuelo
Abigail Resh Quinn
Andrew Fessenden Vagliano