Parents, students, faculty, staff, and alums gathered under the tent on Stockton Field for Indian Mountain School’s 91st graduation ceremony on Friday, June 7, 2014. Strong breezes and sunshine prevailed as 51 ninth graders and 28 departing eighth-graders bid farewell to their friends and teachers before heading off for the summer and on to secondary school. 

Our regular piper, Mr. K. Lee Collins, led the procession of honorees, while the eighth grade marshals, Holley Riva and Dawson Wynn, directed graduates to their seats. Mr. Devey welcomed everyone with opening remarks, and the exciting day began. The Rabbi Daniel Fried from the Anshe Emeth Congregation gave the invocation followed by the traditional singing of America the Beautiful, led by Ms. Joanna Seaton, accompanied by Donald Sosin. Next, Mr. Ram Miles directed a group of IMS singers and musicians in a performance of Count On Me by Bruno Mars. The Mountain Voices later performed Wherever I Go by Adam Watts.

After welcoming remarks, Mr. Devey announced the top scholars; honored departing trustees Jessica Fowler P’13’16, Chul Joon Park P’11’12, and Emilie Pryor P’10’13; and awarded the major school prizes:
7th grade top scholar: Bea Kiggen
8th grade top scholar: Annabelle Burns
9th grade top scholar: Maggie Zhu
Mountain Card: Ani Shaker
Spofford Award: Jessica Fowler
Dunham Chair Award: Anton Kuskin
Distinguished Alumni Award: Allen Blagden ’52
Head of School Awards: Elle Despres, Jensen Hellmers, Sarah Mendelsohn, Jerry Park, Riley Bona, Maya Hart
McMillen Prize: Andrew Spiegel
Schutte Prize: Kevin Oh
Dunham Prize: Maddigan Devey
Rouse Prize: Brodie Craig
Doolittle Prize: Maggie Zhu
Riggs Prize: Geena Ko
Triangle Prize: Chizbel Oham

The ninth grade giving committee presented the ninth grade gift to the IMS Annual Fund, and then Mr. Devey and Trustee President Maria Horn presented the graduates with their diplomas, and departing eighth graders received certificates.

After the ceremony, graduates and their families enjoyed a delicious lunch in the dining hall before saying their goodbyes for the summer. We expect everyone to stay in touch with our Alumni Office and return to the IMS campuses often! The Class of 2014 Alumni Representatives are Elle Despres, Jerry Park, Maddigan Devey, Jensen Hellmers, and Ian Heissenbuttel.

Photos of the day will be available to view and purchas online from Highpoint Pictures soon.

Congratulations to our graduates!
Class of 2014

Valeria Albitos Hernandez
Elijah Emanuel Allick
Arlene Alvarado
Michael Anthony Barranco, Jr
Wyatt Joseph Belotti
Sabrina Barrett Blanton-Rich
Caleigh Kenny Burchfield
Kesi Cania
Nicholas Hargett Case
Yi Zhou Chen
Xiaoyun Chen
Eva Wright Clough
Adam Michael Colangelo
Christopher Georges Comfort
John Broderick Craig
Sherman Lael Cravens
Gabrielle Xian-ning Despres
Maddigan Grace Devey
Anna Catherine Duggan
Bryce Francis Gomez
Samuel Swift Guindon
Chengzuo Guo
Harry Joseph Hazelton
Ian Arthur Heissenbuttel
Jensen Paul Hellmers
Samuel Cooper Humes
Lucie McCrea Jadow
Emma Faith Jaeger
Emilio Maximiliano Jiménez
Bum Suk Jung
Yu Jin Ko
Nicholas Francis Lachaine
Ciara Siobhan McElroy
Sarah Eliana Mendelsohn
Ki Yun Oh
Eberechukwu Chizubelu Oham
Lillie Atwood Osborne
Roman Panibratyuk
Jee Soon Park
Catherine Elizabeth Quaintance
Jeremy Orion Richard
Adam Guessous Seligman
Nathaniel Palmer Smith
Emma Caroline Smith
Andrew William Spiegel
Zachary William Stern
Zachariah Cyrus Tuke
Eva Shilling Wagner
Yang Wu
Julina Yang
Manqing Zhu

Class of 2015

Zoe Rose Acord
Ooruk Aguilar Roel
Riley Jaden Bona
Annabelle Ursula Grace Burns
Alvaro Carlos de la Cruz
Adolfo del Valle Herrera
Cristina Diaz Fernandez del Valle
Eugene Luby Dolan
Yann Doucet Cibrian
Olivia Grace Garofalo
Maya Alexandra Vallenilla Hart
Egun Im
Sarah Katherine Kailani
Allison Kenner Kohlkins
YonJin Lee
Charlotte Catharine MacKenzie
Patrick Vincent Madden
Isabelle Woodward Maher
Daniela Mulas Maza
Katharine Judith Namon
Esteban Javier Nicolau Mancera
Dylan Leigh Schmalz
Emeline Percilla Chappell Smith
Karen Takahashi
Zachary Johann Tarazi
Zichun Wang
Riley Lenihan Wood
Diego Yanez Rassvetaieff